Corn+Soybean Digest

House Agriculture Chairman Collin Peterson Named Wheat Leader

House Agriculture Committee Chairman Collin Peterson (D-MN) has been presented the “Wheat Leader of the Year Award,” by the National Association of Wheat Growers (NAWG). It is the wheat industry's highest public service award.

Karl Scronce, NAWG president and wheat producer from Klamath Falls, OR, says that as chairman, Peterson’s work touches nearly every aspect of agricultural policy. In the past year, he has worked intensely on climate change, food safety and derivative legislation to ensure bills before the House take into account the unique nature of agriculture and the needs of agricultural producers, says Scronce. Peterson was previously selected for the award in 2007 for his efforts to finalize the 2008 Farm Bill, implementation of which is ongoing.

“Chairman Peterson never fails to go to bat for agriculture when push really comes to shove,” says Scronce. “We are proud to name him our ‘wheat leader’ twice in just three years because he really does embody the agriculture voice on the Hill – and that’s a voice that’s desperately needed.”

For more on this and other annual wheat awards, go to

Hide comments


  • Allowed HTML tags: <em> <strong> <blockquote> <br> <p>

Plain text

  • No HTML tags allowed.
  • Web page addresses and e-mail addresses turn into links automatically.
  • Lines and paragraphs break automatically.