Corn+Soybean Digest

Kansas Grower Elected NAWG President

Kansas wheat producer Jerry McReynolds was elected president of the National Association of Wheat Growers (NAWG) at the organization’s board of directors meeting during the Commodity Classic in Anaheim, CA.

McReynolds farms in Woodston, KS, where he produces primarily wheat and sorghum. He also operates a commercial cow herd, including backgrounding and finishing.

Before becoming an NAWG officer, he served as chairman of NAWG’s environmental policy committee and on NAWG’s domestic policy, nominating and budget committees, as well as on the NAWG/U.S. Wheat Associates joint biotechnology committee.

McReynolds has also held several leadership positions in Kansas, with the Kansas Association of Wheat Growers, the Kansas Farm Bureau and many other public service boards and committees looking at local conservation and extension issues. He holds a bachelor’s degree in agricultural economics from Kansas State University.

Other members of the 2010 NAWG officer corps elected at Saturday’s meeting include: Wayne Hurst, Burley, ID, first vice president; Erik Younggren, Hallock, MN, second vice president; Bing Von Bergen, Moccasin, MT, secretary-treasurer; and Karl Scronce, Klamath Falls, OR, immediate past president.

NAWG officers typically “run the chairs” for five years after being selected as secretary-treasurer, though they all must be interviewed and recommended by the NAWG nominating committee and approved by the NAWG board of directors on an annual basis.

For more about wheat activities during Commodity Classic, go to

Hide comments


  • Allowed HTML tags: <em> <strong> <blockquote> <br> <p>

Plain text

  • No HTML tags allowed.
  • Web page addresses and e-mail addresses turn into links automatically.
  • Lines and paragraphs break automatically.